Trailer scammers

ComplaintsInternet ScamsCraigslist trailer scams

Complaint

+3
crookbusta
Country: United States
JessicaGardner70@gmail.com
julie35regan@gmail.com
Rachel@telefirm.agency

Comments

  • +3
    Jesus Follower
    This trailer is basically brand new aside from a few paint scuffs on inside of trailer. Purchased in November of 2015 and used only a few times by my husband who died 2 month ago. It has a clean/clear title in hand. The price  was reduced at $1,000 because I'm in a hurry to find a buyer. I need to sell the trailer before 19th August, when I will be leaving on military duty with my medical team out of the country for a year and do not want to store it. I look forward to hearing from you.

    Sent email back to "Julie" then "she" sent this email back to me..... this is crazy that it's so automated and yet they still hook some prey, and get innocent people's money,  sad world, sad.. sad world.

    Right now I'm stationed at Offutt AFB, Nebraska, doing a special training and getting ready for my deployment. Before leaving I had prearranged the deal with eBay(using this service you will get a 7 days to inspect/test the trailer before I'll get any money.) so my presence isn't necessary. I think I can have it there at your home address within 2-3 working days. The shipping fees are included the final price. So, you'll get the trailer for $1,000, without any additional costs involved.
    I am overwhelmed with the amount of work and I just finished all arrangements for my family prior to deployment. For the moment the trailer is the last thing left to do. So, in order to start the deal, I need your full name and delivery address so I can reserve the trailer for you and register the transaction with eBay and they will contact you with all the instructions step by step on how to complete the deal.

    Julie
  • +3
    crookbusta
    Another trailer scammer:
    kacaptal1@gmail.com
  • +2
    Wised up
    | 2 replies
    Julie is active as of 8/12/19. I saw ad on Craigslist and made an inquiry. Received a response. When I told her we were interested and wanted to come and get the trailer, I got the Offutt AFB version. So I asked her to direct me to her listing on FB since I’d seen it originally on Craigslist. Nothing since. Sad thing is my husband is disappointed because he really liked the unit.
    • +3
      Alan replies to Wised up
      | 1 reply
      Yeah, well, your husband needs to realize he's not going to buy a $10,000 trailer for $1010 ! The ad I saw  and reported today, 8/13/19, she purported to be from Worthington, Mn., 60 miles from me.   I thought perhaps a zero was missing in the price listing, but no, "her husband died a month ago and she was deploying on August 30th!"  Two sad stories in one scam!  LOL  A simple google search of her name brought up this site.  Thanks to all who have posted previously....there's been enough that this is showing up on the first page of a google search!
      • +3
        Wised up replies to Alan
        I figured it out when I asked her for the eBay listing. But it was great to google and find that others figured it out too.
  • +3
    crookbusta
    ElizabethHarr68 @gmail .com
  • +3
    crookbusta
    Ashley24@comcast.net - another trailer scammer.
  • 0
    Pmc
    | 1 reply
    So, what is the point of this scam? I dont understand why they offer something they cant deliver, can someone give some insight? I was looking at this trailer, too - but she never asked for payment. Thanks in advance.
    • +3
      Pmc replies to Pmc
      Ah, I got her "Ebay" invoice today... and they tried to make it look like an official email with pdf attachment but the domain name wasnt even close to anything official. Didnt open the attachment so I dont know if it had anything to do with viruses, etc. Now I know the answer to my own question about how they get money. Simple enough to spot but Im sure they do make money if they play enough numbers. Once again the addage of "Too good to be true..." is... well, true.
  • +4
    Christy
    My husband just responded to a Craigslist post by julie35regan@gmail.com.  Glad this info is out there. My husband was really disappointed when I discovered that it was all a scam. What's the point of doing something like this?
  • +4
    Jen Marie
    I am so thankful I researched. I knew it was too good to be true. Trailer and delivery for under 2000 bucks! eBay will contact me? Never answered where she was being deployed to or thank me for giving her condolences on her husband that died. I told her that God knows who she or he is and that I would pray for her. Also told her to get a real job... So wanted that trailer. Sounded great, right?
  • +3
    Ryan - WI
    I got the same add from Appleton, WI posting.  Same response from "Julie Regan"
  • +3
    Anonym
    my husband just died.  I got the same crap!   But! You don't know until the email.
    .... the purpose is what?  Steal Identity? Steal Phone numbers?
    How do you stop this?   Please tell me.
  • +3
    Marcus
    I got the same thing yesterday, this time she is deploying on Nov 15, so I guess I have to move quickly if I want to buy this trailer. :-)
    Thanks to everyone who posted about this scam.
  • +2
    Clayton
    [***] got me psyched as well!
  • +3
    skamkilla
    Walldewey0@gmail.com - fake CL ads for a popup camper.
  • +3
    skamkilla
    lindagegs6@gmail.com -fake craigslist ads for cargo trailers.
  • +3
    Nailed!
    | 2 replies
    She now goes by Virginia and has moved on to Craigslist to offer a 2015 7x14' closed trailer for $1,200; postings in the last few weeks in SF, Dallas and Houston area.  Her response email to me from:  Virginia Frances <virginiafrances42@gmail.com>
    Hi,
    First, a few words about this sale is a 2015 Formula Trailer (7x14). Body is still shinny like it was new, Chassis has Zero surface rust. This trailer is ready to work
    The unit weighs right at 1720lb and with the 2) 3500 pound axles you will get a nice 5280lbs payload for hauling your motorcycles.
    This motorcycle trailer has been upgraded to include a rubber tread plate floor covering, top cabinets and vinyl ceiling and walls.
    This trailer is ready to hit the road and transport your precious cargo in style.
    7 x 14 Tandem Axle
    1720lb/7000gvwr
    32” Side Door
    3,500 lb. Leaf Spring Axles
    24” ATP Stoneguard
    LED Light  Package

    No accident history, original paint. It was my father's but unfortunately he can't use it anymore as he died 3 months ago. I sold almost all my father's stuff including the farm, I am not a farmer and it has to go. After I sold the farm the new owners didn't want to purchase the trailer as they don't need it. If you decide to buy it, you'll receive all the papers, owner manual, a buy-sell contract signed by me. I have a low price ($1200), because I want to sell it in the next 7 days. I am in US Army and my unit will be sent back oversea to replace and help the troops scheduled to come home this year.

    Looking forward to hear from you,

    Dr. Virginia Frances
    Company D, 141st Brigade Support Battalion
    Utah National Guard
    • +3
      skamkilla replies to Nailed!
      I'm willing to bet "Virginia" doesn't exist.
      "I am in US Army and my unit will be sent back oversea" - doesn't sound right, does it? (A true American soldier would just say "I'm in the Army," not necessarily adding the "US."  Also, "oversea"?)  And "Virginia" claims to be in the Utah National Guard  -   OK, is she in the National Guard, or the regular Army?

      And I can't emphasize this enough:
      eBay does NOT offer "insurance" or "buyer protection" to craigslist sales.  If you did not buy it on the eBay site, or win an auction there, eBay will have NOTHING to do with it!
    • +2
      Angie replies to Nailed!
      My husband just got the same story today Jun 20 2020  So she is still at it!!

Post a new comment